RE:DIGIPEDI

Juan Estela
3 min readOct 29, 2020

--

Music has always played an important role in my functioning as a normal human person, and my music taste can get…specific at times. An example of that is my appreciation of KPop and the level of showmance that comes from the industry.

While KPop idols are definitely talented in their own right, I have always appreciated the people that work behind the scenes to make idols shine the way they do. That includes stylists, choreographers, make-up artists, and especially music video directors.

‘RE:DIGIPEDI’ is a response to my favorite directors from the Korean Pop industry. The project gives backstory into how I found about their work, what I found interesting or inspiring about their catalog, and a bit about their process.

With regards to the form of this project, I did not want to over-complicate it. I started writing out a script à la video essay, and recorded the narration I would use for my video. Then, I went ahead and gathered about 30 music videos from the studio to showcase. While I initially intended to curate clips from the curated videos, that ended up proving to be an inefficient use of my time. Instead, I went ahead and printed my script, annotating it with as many relevant scenes as I could remember. Gaps would be filled after by simply taking note of what parts had missing visuals, and re-watching a handful of videos.

This annotation method saved me a lot of sanity.

I initially stitched my footage together via Premiere Pro, and took it into After Effects to work on the final product. For the visuals, I wanted to take after Digipedi and create a dichotomy between reality and fiction, which is why I decided to animate my hands and phone, with the video playing through the cartoon phone. Though a cartoon, I wanted to create some sort of realistic movement, therefore I set up my Illustrator illustration in such a way that I have joint control at my wrist. The hand, as it would in real life, moves subtly to give the impression that someone really is holding this phone.

Reference photo vs. Illustrator rendition. Not pictured: questionable sketch!

For the video within the video with all my information, I used a tile pattern in the background as a reference to the patterns demonstrated in the Digipedi team. The pattern correlates to the subject that is being discussed, giving this story a bit of a beginning, middle, and end. For the informational text, I went ahead and used Nanum Gothic as a reference to the South Korean Naver search engine which uses that typeface. The title typeface is Bebas, attempting to match Digipedi’s brand.

Still from the final product.

--

--